KNOWLEDGE BASE
Everything you need to know about using the Kinduct Platform
Follow

Understanding Permissions

Print Friendly and PDF

Default Permissions are set up to best suit your organizational structure and goals. You should not need to change any permissions unless your organizational structure has changed. Changing permissions may have unexpected results. We encourage you to contact us if you are unclear about the affects of turning a specific permission ON/OFF might have on your users' accounts.

NOTE: To restore defaults, click set default permissions within the Update Permissions page for each Role.  

Permissions are a very important set of ON/OFF switches that can be accessed via the Roles section on the Organizations page or on the Roles page. These switches dictate what each role has access to on the platform. If a switch is OFF for a particular role then that feature will be turned off for that role and it will not be visible for the members defined under that role.

Example: if the role "Athlete" has the permission switch "Messages" turned OFF then the message center will be invisible to all members who are identified as "Athlete" and these members will be unable to receive and send messages.   

 

Permissions are organized by feature and are broken down further when turned ON.

Permissions are passed down from parent to child organizations. Permissions flow is shown in the diagram below. Changes to permissions at a child level do not impact the parent organization or any other child organizations at the same level.

Example: If parent "A" turns OFF "Messages" then the Messages Center will be turned OFF for ALL child organizations. However, if parent "A" does not lock "Messages" then any of the children can turn it back ON for themselves and their children. If child "B" turns ON "Messages" then it will be turned ON for child "E" and "F" only. 

Permissions by default can be changed at a child organization level UNLESS they are locked at a parent level. To lock a permission check the check box to the right of the permission.  

Example: If parent "A" turns OFF "Messages" then Messages Center will be turned OFF for ALL child organizations. However, if parent "A" does not lock "Messages" then any of the children can turn it back ON for themselves and their children. 

Members that should NOT have access to change Permissions must be assigned Roles that do not have Permissions to Organizations and Roles under the Administration section. Note: In general, members that should not have access to change permissions should also not have access to Administration in general (Members, Groups, etc.). Therefore the Administration permissions switch should be turned OFF

If users are logged in and permissions are changed, in order for Permissions changes to take effect, these users must log out and log back in to the platform.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.